The .NEXT Award program recognizes IT leaders who are transforming their organizations with innovative ideas and technology. They are visionaries. Leaders. Disruptors. People of passion. And they have the ambition, drive, and talent to elevate IT to focus on the business.

Nominate an IT Leader

Know an exceptional IT leader? We’ll be recognizing those trailblazers whose spirit of innovation and technology have benefitted their teams and organizations.

Nominations closed on Friday, April 14, 2017 at 5pm Pacific Standard Time. Finalists will be announced on Monday, May 12, 2017 with winners announced on main stage during the .NEXT Conference.

The finalist for this year's .NEXT Awards are…

Elevate IT Award

Lester Lewis, Deputy CIO, Clark County

Karen Zetes, Senior Director, IT Engineering and Architecture, Corporation Service Company

Stu Davis, CIO, State of Ohio, Department of Administrative Services

Best in Enterprise Cloud Award



Tractor Supply Company

Public Sector Transformation Award

City of Plano

Maryland State Lottery Agency

The National Institute for Insurance against Accidents at Work and Occupational Diseases (INAIL)


There are three award categories for submissions:

Elevate IT Award [Individual]

This award recognizes a senior executive (CIO or VP-level) who has demonstrated excellence in technology leadership through innovation in his or her datacenter strategy that has directly resulted in meaningful business impact to his or her organization. This senior executive is a trail blazer who inspires his or her IT team to challenge the status quo and embrace innovation in order to fuel the business, drive down costs, reduce complexity, and improve the overall productivity of the IT team.

Best in Enterprise Cloud Award [Team]

This award honors a team that has helped transform their organization through innovation in the datacenter. This innovation should have demonstrable benefits in either the customer experience, operational savings or increased availability and efficiency. Here is an opportunity to be recognized for your innovation, highlight your successful strategy and share the ROI your company has experienced as a result.

Public Sector Transformation Award [Agency or Organization]

This award honors a national, state or local government agency, or organization that has played a pivotal role in delivering innovative, secure, efficient and sustainable services to public-sector customers and citizens. This agency/organization has inspired action and change through the power of technology.

2017’s award honorees will be in good company. These are the recipients from last year’s .NEXT Conference:

Elevate It Honoree
John Mason
CIO, Bottomline Technologies
Innovator Honoree
Matt Day
ICT and Support Manager, Langs Building Supplies
Disruptor Honoree
Biju Samuel
Director of Information Technology, Cardlytics
Public Sector Honoree
Thomas Sasala
Chief of the Strategy, Plans & Architecture Center, Joint IT Service Provider, The US Pentagon
Champion Honoree
Jeff Babcock, Manager
IT Infrastructure and Security, Empire Life

The top three finalists in each award category will receive 2 nights hotel accommodation at the beautiful Gaylord National, and a complimentary .NEXT Conference pass. Awards will be presented by Nutanix visionary co-founder and CEO Dheeraj Pandey on the main stage in front of an audience of 4000+ IT professionals and industry evangelists.

Criteria & Eligibility

The process for choosing the .NEXT Award honorees is systematic and very competitive. We're looking for companies that are transforming their organizations with innovative ideas and challenging the status quo.

  • Nominations are open to senior IT management and IT team members.
  • Submissions must be approved by the nominee or nominated company.
  • Submissions must include customer contacts.
  • Nominations are limited to one submission per company.
  • Nominees must be Nutanix customers.
  • Applicants are welcome from for-profit and not-for-profit organizations.
  • Applicants must present accomplishments related to the applicant's current position.
  • Finalists are encouraged to attend the .NEXT Conference awards presentation in person.

The evaluation of nominations and selection of finalists will be independently undertaken by a panel comprised of an IT leader at a Global 2000 company, a technology industry expert, and a global Nutanix executive.

Join us at the Gaylord National Harbor Hotel in Washington, D.C. for a one-of-a-kind experience full of insightful content, networking, activities, parties, and more.